ERCIM Cor Baayen Award 2016 – 5000€

Cor Baayen Award

The Cor Baayen Award is awarded each year to a promising young researcher in computer science and applied mathematics. The award was created in 1995 to honour the first ERCIM President.
The award consists of a cheque for 5000 Euro together with an award certificate.

Cor Baayen Award 2016

The winner of the 2016 Award will be invited to present her or his work at the European Computer Science Summit 2016 in Budapest, co-located with the annual ERCIM and Informatics Europe fall meetings. A short article on the winner, together with the list of all candidates nominated, will be published in ERCIM News.


  • Nominees must have carried out their work in one of the ‘ERCIM countries’: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands and the United Kingdom
  • Nominees must have been awarded their PhD (or equivalent) after 30 April 2013.
  • A person can only be nominated once for the Cor Baayen Award.

Submitting a nomination

  • Nominations should be made by a staff member of an ERCIM member institute. Self nominations are not accepted.
  • Nominees must have performed their research at any research organisation from the country of the nominating institution.
  • To submit a nomination fill out the Cor Baayen Award Nomination Form and provide a URL to the candidate’s PhD thesis as well as the candidate’s best papers (max. 5).
  • Deadline for submitting a nomination: 15 May 2016


  • The selection of the Cor Baayen award winner is the responsibility of the ERCIM Human Capital Task Group, who will consult expert opinion in reaching their decision.

Further Information

Can be obtained from your ERCIM representative or from the Cor Baayen Award coordinator Claude Kirchner, Inria (